Newcomers

Rachel Meisel here, senior editor for Summerside Press™. I am continually blessed by this job: I am able to work from home, I am paid to read fantastic fiction, and I am constantly making new friends!

You might have noticed several new faces in that right-hand column under “Authors.” We’ve recently signed on four new authors for the LOVE FIND YOU™ titles we’ll be publishing in the spring and summer of 2009! Please join me in welcoming to the Summerside Press™ team:

February 2009
Anita Higman – Love Finds You in Humble, Texas

April 2009
Tamela Hancock MurrayLove Finds You in Maiden, North Carolina
Loree Lough – Love Finds You in Paradise, Pennsylvania

June 2009
Debby Mayne – Love Finds You in Treasure Island, Florida

I am very excited to be working with these four talented women, and their stories are sure to impress and delight you.

In other news, we’ve recently sent Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas (Sandra D. Bricker) and Love Finds You in Miracle, Kentucky (Andrea Boeshaar) to the printer. I could not be more thrilled! I absolutely love the way these stories have shaped up, and I know you will love them too. Sandie and Andrea are two very talented writers, and they happen to be good friends with each other. What a great way to kick off the LOVE FINDS YOU™ series! Be sure to look for these books at your local book store in early October, or you can preorder them from Amazon by clicking on the titles above.

And be sure to check out the books we’ve contracted earlier this year, which will be releasing in December and February. They are all available for preorder on Amazon! Releasing in December of 2008 will be Love Finds You in Romeo, Colorado (by Gwen Ford Faulkenberry) and Love Finds You in Valentine, Nebraska (by Irene Brand); and releasing in February of 2009 will be Love Finds You in Last Chance, California (by Miralee Ferrell).

I am staying very busy reading proposals for upcoming LOVE FIND YOU™ titles. There is such an impressive amount of talent out there, and I can’t wait for our readers to experience it firsthand. I expect to be signing contracts with several more authors in the upcoming weeks, so stay tuned to find out more!

10 Responses to Newcomers

  1. Debby Mayne says:

    You do have a great job, Rachel, but I can only imagine how busy you must be!

    I’m counting the days until the first Summerside titles hit the stores! I love reading books by both Sandie and Andrea–two of my favorite authors!

  2. Patti JoMoore says:

    I am excited about this new line of books! I’m really looking forward to reading books by all of these ladies, and discovering new places to “visit”!
    Blessings, Patti Jo Moore
    (from Georgia)

  3. Irene Brand says:

    It’s great to see the “excitement” building about the Summerside Books. Only two months until October, and all of us are waiting for that great day. It’s always exciting to be a part of a new enterprise.

  4. This is so exciting! I have butterflies in my tummy just thinking about this new line. Can’t wait to read Sandie and Andrea’s books!!!

  5. Rachel, the sweet and humble heart that I’ve come to know in you over these last months just shines through in what you wrote. It really is a family of sisters here at Summerside now. Andrea and I prayed together at the beginning of this year that the Lord would guide us both in the journey He had for us, and we often refer back to that day now. I’m just so grateful and humbled by the way He just moved in and smoothed out all the crooked places on the path toward Summerside. And now two of my closest friends and two of the dearest (and funniest) people I know … Loree and Debby … are writing for the same line. Even my own agent has joined the group! As the circle widens, I find myself making and deepening treasured friendships inside this group that I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, were preordained. Honestly, Rachel, I love you and Jason dearly … as well as the old and new girlfriends rounding out this picture of destiny and opportunity for all of us.

    Blessings, one and all.
    Sandie

  6. Loree Lough says:

    Rachel, what Sandie says about you is 100% true. As an ‘old-timer’ in this wacky business, I’ve worked with dozens of editors, and you are by far one of the very best. The fact is, everyone in the Summerside family has been a joy to work with!

    It’s sorta like we’re bees in a very sweet and active hive (minus stingers, of course!), busily buzzing along, strengthening existing friendships as we cultivate new ones: Sandie, Irene, and Andrea are like flowers in my garden, delivering daily doses of spirit-filled grace, while the rest of you are new sprouts, promising an eyeful of beauty as our relationships grow and blossom in the months and years to come.

    What an honor it is to be a member of this God-inspired publishing family! Each morning, I thank The Good Lord for stretching out His arms and drawing us all close. I’m confident that, with His continued blessings and guidance, each of us will touch hearts and change lives with stories that will encourage AND entertain readers for many, many years to come.

    Happy reading and writing, m’friends!

    All my best,
    Loree
    (Love Finds You in Paradise, Pennsylvania)

  7. I’m sooo excited about the release of the first set of Summerside books…I think even more so than I am about my own release in Feb., at least right now! I’ll be buying all of these first ones as they hit the shelves and can’t wait to see what my ‘sisters’ have created.

    God has been so amazing in the way He’s orchestrated this journey, and the pulling together of a new family of writers. I love the cover art that’s been chosen so far for every book, and the work that Rachel has put into the building of this blog, and encouraging/helping the writer’s has been superb.

    Just one quick question…I see it’s available for pre-order on Amazon, but will they be posting on CBD as well?

    Can’t wait!!! Hugs and blessings to you all! Miralee

    PS, my MS goes on Rachel’s desk this coming Monday, just before I fly out for the ACFW conference. I can leave and enjoy the conference knowing I’ve completed my task.

  8. Irene Brand says:

    I posted a message yesterday about ACFW, but it must be lost in cyberspace, for it didn’t show up on the blog. There were 4 Sisters attending, and I had good visits with all of them, but the 4 of us never were together at the same time to get a group picture. It’s sometimes difficult to find individuals in a gathering of 500 writers.

    I did take several pictures and hoped to post them to the site, but I couldn’t seem to make the transfer from my camera to the internet last night. I’ll try later on today. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

    In my opinion, the conference was the best yet, and I hope several of us can attend next year when it’s held in Denver. I don’t know the date yet.

  9. Loree Lough says:

    I’ve said it before (probably in waaaaaay too many places), but it bears repeating: I’m disappointed to have missed the ACFW conference! It’s on my 2009 calendar, so with God’s blessing and grace, I can give every one of you a great big hug next year.

    As I work toward completing Love Finds You in Paradise, PA, I find myself getting a little sad. I’ve grown so fond of Simon and Julia and their Amish friends that I hate to say goodbye! I’m sure it’ll be just like that when the conference ends and we all head home again.

    Guess it’s truly a blessing that we have the glorious sights, scents, and sounds of autumn to distract us from stuff like that, eh!

    All my best,
    Loree

  10. Gwen Watkins says:

    Dear Rachel, Within this past week I just came across your web site and I think it is excellent. What an awesome day of computerization we are living in. God’s Word can go forth so quickly now. Thank you for what you are doing. I have only read 2 of your LFY books but you have inspired me to write Love Finds You in Utopia, Texas. I do believe this is an answer to prayer that I petitioned our Lord recently about direction in my life. I have only written one book: Angel Food (spiritual recipes to share). But, you and your people have given me a new direction and fresh inspiration. Thank you so very much.
    Gwen in Utopia.

Leave a comment