Do You Believe In Miracles?

While writing my novel “Love Finds You In Miracle, Kentucky” I experienced a very personal miracle.

A year ago, doctors suspected I had MS (multiple sclerosis). The diagnosis caused me a lot of anxiety. I didn’t want to babysit for my grand kids, thinking I could lose the use of my arms or legs and be unable to care for them. I didn’t want to drive long distances, fearing I might lose my sight. I also found myself fretting that I’d be unable to write.

I prayed about it and gave it over to the Lord so many times, but always seemed to take it back again. Then one day my friend, Holly, a nurse in a busy emergency room, suggested that I see a different neurologist. Holly offered to come with me.

I made an appointment and having a RN along was great because Holly knew the right questions to ask the neurologist. Meanwhile I could tell this doctor was caring and competent. He ran more tests on me, including blood work and an MRI, and finally concluded the lesions in my brain were NOT MS lesions. They’re not even “lesions,” they are “spots.” The neurologist said that anyone of us could have spots on our brains from any number of things. It’s a mystery. But those spots were not causing my symptoms.

Then he informed me of the real problem: Osteomalacia, or low vitamin D levels. My family doctor had told me my level was low a year ago, but just told me I needed to take over-the-counter supplements, so I did. But they didn’t help. What I needed was prescription-strength vitamin D supplement–which is what I’m taking now. I still have fibromyalgia, but I’m praying for complete healing. With God anything is possible. 

The miracle: God used my friend Holly to convince me to see another neurologist who made the correct diagnosis for me. God now has me on the road to reclaiming good health.

Comparitively, In my story “Love Finds You In Miracle, Kentucky,” my character Cammy always believes she’ll walk again after a tragic accident rendered her legs useless. Her father never thought it could really happen. But God uses the town’s newest resident, Meg, to convince him to see a surgeon who can possibly help his young daughter. Will he be open to the miracle of healing and the miracle of love?

The book will be released in October.

Are you open to miracles in your life? Sometimes they’re not the magic wand miracles we think of–presto-chango, now you’re healed. Sometimes miracles are just opening the door of our hearts to Jesus and allowing Him to come in and take His place in our lives.

What a miracle when it happens!

I’d love to hear about your miracles! Leave me some comments.

22 Responses to Do You Believe In Miracles?

  1. Deb Kinnard says:

    Boy, I hear you lady. Not all miracles are as visible as yours, though. My whole writing life has been a succession of small, gentle blessings, all adding up to a major praise to God for the opportunity. One such blessing was meeting you.

  2. Pamela Tracy says:

    It’s no fun living with silent fear. Thanks for sharing your story. I look forward to October’s book!

  3. Tamara Cooper says:

    Thank you for the lovely post. When my DIL died in January, we were all devastated, but then, we looked back over the last 2 years and saw that God had moved them from Connecticut to Colorado, to be with us. The three boys (ages 3, 2, 1) knew us (Papa and Grandma), loved us, and moved upstairs to live permanently with us. That is a miracle, that God divinely orchestrated the move, to place them with us. Sometimes we don’t understand the tragedies of life, but His loving plan is there, if we look close enough.

  4. Evelyn Evans says:

    My antique clock which had not worked in over 8 years—the repairman said, “Needs new works,”—began to tick while I was praying for my grandson who was having difficulty at school. I was asking for the miracle of a changed attitude. Instead God got my attention with the ticking clock, which stopped about an hour later when I felt that God had heard and answered my prayer. That night God drew Daniel to himself so he accepted Christ as SAvior.
    The clock never worked before and has not worked since that hour when God let me know he was listening and extending grace.
    I am writing this experience as an entry in Guideposts contest.

  5. Kathy Harris says:

    Andrea, your ACFW post caught my attention because I recently experienced a miracle with my writing. It came through a chance meeting with someone who provided timely and unique insight about one of my characters. It was a gift of confirmation from God about my story.

    Interestingly, the miracle doesn’t stop there. I was also recently diagnosed with an extreme Vitamin D deficiency and, until I read your post, I didn’t realize how serious this could be. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    May God continue to bless you!

  6. Robin Bayne says:

    Great reminder that miracles do happen : )

  7. I believe God speaks to us. It’s own miracle and I’ve personally had ‘ideas’ come to me at exactly the right time, from way out of left field that felt miraculous.
    So a friend saying the right word at the right time, with God preparing your heart to hear it, is a wonderful miracle.

  8. Pam Meyers says:

    Hi Andrea,
    You know I’ve had many miracles in my life, one of the most recent was deliverance from a decades-long oppression over the way a classmate had treated me senior year in high school. God used a high school reunion to show me the need to forgive and to begin to pray for this person. The day of the reunion God showed Himself to me through a devotional the morning of the reunion that I knew was tailor-made for me, through specific answers to prayer at the reunion, and a special time spent with the person who had been the cause of all my pain. It was a miraculous day!

  9. Karla Akins says:

    Miracles happen to me everyday. One miracle that happened this week was God providing for our little private school’s pressing financial needs. The bank account was zero — and on Monday a parent came in and paid all their back tuition!

    This year in our school we’ve been studying birds. I think birds are miraculous. There are over 10,000 bird species. 2,000 of those species are in North America. When you consider all the different colors, songs, sizes and shapes of birds — and then how they can fly, build nests and forage for food — how can you conclude there isn’t a miracle making God?

  10. Wow, Andrea, thanks for sharing more about this miracle. So glad you have the right diagnosis. The book sounds great! I can’t wait to read it.
    Blessings, Carrie T.

  11. Andrea, your post reminded me once again of the miracle for which I prayed for eleven years. My son had turned his back on God, declared that God didn’t exist, and was determined to live his life his own way. For eleven years I prayed daily for “my miracle”–to see my son come back to the Savior he once loved. God uses incredible and extraordinary means sometimes. In April of 2005, at age 27, my son was diagnosed with cancer and faced his own mortality.

    He didn’t make any deals with God, promising to serve Him only if he was healed. Instead, Jonathan bowed his knee and his heart to God in pure repentence and adoration, no matter what happened with his cancer. He declared, “If God heals me, I’ll praise Him. If God heals me by taking me to heaven, I’ll still praise Him.” MY MIRACLE happened on May 15th, 2005–3 years ago today.

  12. Andrea:

    I already knew about this miracle … and I still misted up with tears when I read it. He’s a wonderful Lord, isn’t He?

    Love you.

    Your prayer partner & buddy,
    Sandie

  13. Patti Moore says:

    Hello Andrea:
    Thank you for sharing your story (and by the way, I’ve been a big fan of your’s since discovering your books 2 years ago!). ~ Back in the late 1980’s when I was pregnant with my 2nd child, the doctors told me I was carrying a baby with spina bifida (they even offered me an abortion, which I adamantly refused). Every test they performed on me showed a definite problem. Needless to say, I was very distraught. Then I reached a point when I completely turned my worries over to the Lord – – COMPLETELY!! After that I truly had a peace, and knew the Lord would help me no matter what happened with the baby. (the nurses at my Dr.’s office even noticed the change in me when I did this!). ~ Rebecca was born PERFECT – – no birth defects – – everything was normal and she was beautiful (still is at 20!). She is truly a miracle, and I still cling to the verse in 1 Peter 5:7. ~ ~ Blessings, Patti Moore

  14. Jason says:

    Andrea,
    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I needed to hear this today. I know God still does miracles and I’m know they wont’ always look the way I expect them to.

    I think the real miracle in my life is being child-like enough to not only be open to miracles, but to expect them.

    Thanks for your encouragement.
    Jason

  15. brand2008 says:

    I’m been away for 5 days, and the posts have piled up on me.
    Andrea, I’m looking forward to working with you at Summerside.
    As I read all of the posts about personal miracles, I thought of the song, “It Took A Miracle,” and the phrase “But when He saved my soul, cleansed and made me whole, it took a miracle of love and grace,” popped into my head.

    Truly, that is the most miraculous event in my life.

    Irene Brand

  16. Gwen Faulkenberry says:

    Dear Andrea,

    What a neat story, and special blog entry. It reads like a devotional–and one I needed to ponder!

    I have three small children, and the Lord is always using them to show me His miracles, and bring me back to a childlike faith. A very dear moment for me the other day was when my five-year-old, Harper, explained his interpretation of the song “Amazing Grace” to my seven-year-old, Gracie, who was named for that song. He said, “You know when it says ‘I once was lost, but now am found; was blind, but now I see?’ That means we would be lost in darkness, but when Jesus comes in our hearts He brings a light so we can see how to live!”

    I don’t want to ever lose the wonder of the discovery of God’s grace–as it came to me as a child, as it works in the hearts of my family, as it comes to me every day like sunlight through my window.

    What a miracle that He saved–and keeps saving–a wretch like me.

    The Lord bless you in all the work of your hands!
    Gwen (Romeo)

  17. Hi Andrea,

    Boy this low Vit D must be prevelant amoung women…I was diagnosed with that last year!

    I’m taking otc supplements and they seem to be doing well, but the one thing my Dr said was ‘get outside!’

    Could it be that we writers spend too much time indoors and not enough soaking up the natural Vit D given to us by God, through the Sun?

    Well, it’s warmer now and I’m walking again, every day…getting the min requirements of 10mins a day sunshine – which also give me an extra 10mins of Son shine 🙂

    Looking forward to reading these ‘Love Finds You’ books!
    PamT

  18. Debby Mayne says:

    Andrea, I’m glad you’re doing better. You write such wonderful, heart-warming books, and I look forward to reading thing one!

  19. Debby Mayne says:

    Andrea, I’m glad you’re doing better. You write such wonderful, heart-warming books, and I look forward to reading this one!

  20. Darlene S says:

    Our miracle began a month ago. Our daughter, age 6, has had great difficulties since birth with many developmental obstacles to overcome. Sometimes I’ve grown weary dealing with her lack of comprehension and continual contention regarding even the smallest issues. Over the years I’ve had to deal with disputes over eating, changing clothes, bathing, going to bed, getting in and out of the car, etc. It seemed like there was a battle associated with every moment of every day. Too often I forgot the promises of the Lord to me on the day of her birth. I neglected to stand in the faith of Abraham that I would see in the natural what I could only ‘see’ in faith now.

    Often when I drive I pray. One day a month ago I remember turning out of the driveway on the way to an appointment with our little girl in the back seat. I began to pray spontaneously without really paying attention to what I was praying. Then my brain caught up to my lips and I was very attentive! I heard myself praying for our daughter’s scrambled brain to be restored to its blueprint of creation. The more refined way of saying that is for the synapses to be transmitting information without interruption, dead end detours, or delay.

    Well, I have been amazed and shocked at what has transpired since that day! Already several hours later, when my husband and I were eating supper in a restaurant with our daughter we noticed the change. So often in the past we had been greatly vexed when taking our little girl out to eat. She would fuss over the temperature of the food, over how it was cut or not cut, she wanted us to feed her, she had to go to the bathroom, wouldn’t want to stay sitting at the table, and various other circumstances leading us to vow to never take her out to eat again.

    But this day was different! She ate all the food on her plate by herself, didn’t fuss about anything, stayed sitting through the entire meal, and was even pleasant to be around – oh, it was wonderful! We couldn’t believe it was the same child!

    This was just the beginning of the changes to come. Very soon we no longer had disputes over changing clothes, sitting down in the water to take a bath, washing and drying her hair and going to bed. However, as great as those landmarks were, those things were incidental to the fact that she began to speak coherently and even in sentences sometimes, including those ‘wh’ questions her teachers had yearned to hear. It began with, “Dad! Where are the kitties?” Music to my husband’s ears!

    Even greater is that our little girl began to pray the mealtime prayer without being led at every word. She even has gotten to the point where, if we don’t wait for her to pray, she gets quite upset and we must pray all over again with her doing the praying. How wonderful is our God! He does answer our earnest intercession – and in the most delightful ways!

    I fully anticipate this miracle will continue to be revealed more and more each day until all the obstacles have been overcome. I am reminded of a song sung at the Pentecost service of a earthenfloored church in Zambia in May 2007. “Wonderful! [Marvelous!] is Your Name O Lord! You are the God who never changes. The windows of heaven are open; the power of God is moving…”

    Addendum: A month before the change began, my husband suggested it was time to write the book about our little girl’s life. He was not aware that a friend had prophesied that book long before the child was conceived, saying, “Darlene, you need to write a book about the pearl of great price.” At the time I couldn’t come up with any leads or concepts, so I just shelved the thought. Now is the time. Our daughter’s middle name is Pearl and her price has been sacrificially great; so has the testimony of the Lord through her. I have been floundering about trying to begin for the past two months. Your blog and comments, Andrea, have prompted me to write this comment which will be part of the book! Thanks!

  21. Rodney Miracle says:

    Just saw your website, thought you might want to hear from a real Miracle. The area is named for my dad’s family. I still live on a farm not far from you. Good luck and God Bless.

  22. Hi, I want to subscribe for this weblog to take hottest updates, therefore
    where can i do it please help.

Leave a Reply

