The Breath of Life

God created the heavens and earth, and we’re made in His image, so it is only natural that we too would want to make things of beauty. And one of the many things we humans feel stirred to create are stories—wonderfully entertaining, challenging, funny, and inspiring stories.

Ever since I was a girl I’ve wanted to express myself artistically, but more so in writing than with any other medium. To form characters in my imagination and then read about them on the printed page is like giving them the breath of life. And just as the Almighty loves to commune with his beloved creatures, how many of us would love to have lunch with our favorite characters?

As I’m writing Love Finds You in Humble, Texas, I’ve enjoyed the creation of my heroine, Trudie Abernathy, and I’ve been fascinated to watch her grow as she struggles and thrives and falls in love in this charming Texas town.

Also, characters can show up unexpectedly without the writer’s invitation, such as the amusing and adorable Wiley Flat or Cyrus who suddenly showed up at Trudie’s doorstep with something important to say. So, sometimes my stories have surprises even for me. And I’ve discovered that a small character can play a vital role, or what seems to be a chance encounter can have life-changing consequences. Just like in real life.

I hope someday you get a chance to travel to Humble, Texas. It’s in the southeastern part of Texas very close to Houston. And if you’re having coffee in the little café on Main Street, and you happen to run into Trudie Abernathy, please tell her I said hello.

I’d love to know what fictional character has stayed with you through the years. Who is your most favorite? Mine is Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird.

Until next time, read, write, and enjoy this entertaining, challenging, funny, and inspiring creation called fiction!

Blessings,
Anita Higman

14 Responses to The Breath of Life

  1. Gwen Ford Faulkenberry says:

    Dear Anita,
    I enjoy your blog entries. As Anne of Green Gables says, you seem to be a kindred spirit,
    I love Atticus too. I honestly can’t say who my favorite is, but through the years one chacter who has stayed with me is Jane Eyre.
    I’m looking forward to “meeting” Trudie.
    Love,
    Gwen

  2. Anita Higman says:

    Hi Gwen,

    Thank you for your kind words. And yes, Jane Eyre is such a wonderful character!

    I hope readers enjoy Trudie. She has been such a joy to create.

    I would love to meet you at a writer’s conference someday. I’ll be attending several next year.

    Blessings,
    Anita

  3. Gwen Ford Faulkenberry says:

    Oh, dear. I just noticed all of the errors in my last post. I suppose that is disgraceful for a writer, and worse for one who’s an English teacher. Maybe I’ll run my next one by a good editor before submitting it!

    Are you going to Mt. Hermon? I don’t know if I’ll be able to go to any conferences, but if I get to pick one, that will be my choice. T. Davis Bunn is teaching there this coming year on fiction. I’d love another chance to be in his classes.

    I hope the Lord will bring us together someday too–in His time.

    Warmly,
    Gwen

  4. Anita Higman says:

    Hi Gwen,

    It is easy to have errors in this text, because the print is so tiny when typing it out in the reply box. And there’s no spell-check:)

    Yes, I’m hoping to go to Mt. Hermon next year, so I hope to see you there!

    Blessings,
    Anita

  5. Debby Mayne says:

    Whether reading or writing, I get way too involved with the story characters. Wouldn’t it be fun to throw a party and invite our favorite characters? Just imagine having all that humor/angst/suspense in one room!

  6. Anita Higman says:

    Hi Debby,

    Now that’s an exciting concept. Your idea makes me think of the movie Stranger Than Fiction. Interesting movie, especially for writers!

    Blessings,
    Anita

  7. Irene Brand says:

    Just checking in to see what’s going on, and I enjoyed reading all of your posts. I also liked Jane Eyre’s story, but haven’t read it for a long time. I’ll have to pull it off the shelf and read it again soon.

    I’ve always heard that Mount Hermon is one of the best Christian writers’ conferences. I’ve attended many others, but not that one – it’s a “fur piece” from West Virginia to California. Unless I’m mistaking my authors, T. Davis Bunn taught at a Florida writers conference in 2004, the same time I was teaching a workshop on romance writing. He did some speaking in the general sessions, and he was very impressive.

  8. Gwen Faulkenberry says:

    Anita,

    I thought of you today. My kids and I are listening to To Kill A Mockingbird on CD as we drive back and forth to school. They love it, and I am really enjoying hearing it read aloud. It’s remarkable how Harper Lee gets inside the head of that little girl and tells her story. I keep going over certain expressions and sentences, trying to transfer some of her genius into my brain. My kids think I’m crazy. What a masterpiece!

    Hope you’re doing well.
    Gwen

  9. Loree Lough says:

    Y’know, one of my all-time favorite movies is Mockingbird. (The book was just as good, of course, but in a completely different way.)

    From now on, every time I think of it…or hear a mockingbird, even…I’m gonna think of you!

    All my best,
    Loree

  10. Anita Higman says:

    Hi Loree,

    What kind words. Thank you. I am really looking forward to reading the novels of the Summerside Sisters. I’m certain the stories will warm the heart and invite us to places we’ll never want to leave.

    Blessings to you and to all the Summerside Sisters!
    Anita Higman
    http://www.anitahigman.com

  11. Anne Holbrook says:

    Without hesitation, my favorite fictional character is Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables. She was always with me growing up – a constant inspiration. I always thought it was a shame that she wasn’t really real; she would have been an awesome friend. Second favorite – Scarlett O’Hara from Gone with the Wind. 🙂 What can I say? I love gals with spunk.

  12. Irene Brand says:

    Gone With the Wind was a favorite in my youth, but I haven’t read it for a long time. It makes me sad to think about those 4 years our country was torn apart. I taught U. S. History for over 20 years, so I do love historicals. As for liking gals with spunk – so do I. My heroines are always determined, sometimes hard-headed. Perhaps I pattern them after myself. 🙂

    Have a blessed week.

  13. Christy Richardson says:

    Wow! I grew up ain Humble, TX and have jhust started your book. I t just jumped off the shelf at me. I now live in Kingwood, just north of Humble, and I am so excited. I called all of my friends and they want to read it to.

    Being a good little southern girl, I must admit my absolutely favorite Character is Scarlett O’Hara. She was able to lead her family through such a rough time on sheer will power, and her adventures were many. I read Gone with the winf about once or twice a year , and I can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to introduce her to these great characters.

    I am looking forward to your book.
    Thanks ofr thinking of us here in the town of Humble.

  14. my blog says:

    check this out…

    this is mine…

Leave a Reply

