Pictures from Miracle, Kentucky

My husband Daniel and I took a brief Fourth of July getaway weekend and toured Miracle, Kentucky (or “Merkel” as the locals say). It’s a rural area south of Stanford. To get there, we drove down a steep, winding two-lane highway. My ears actually popped. To me, Miracle looks like a basin of pastures surrounded by the foothills of the Appalachians. It’s very peaceful and its residents are kind and helpful — especially to lost tourists.

But I’ll let my character, Meg, tell you more about it. She just moved there from Chicago to teach school in Stanford. Everything my character describes (see pictures below) is in my story.

Will love find her in Miracle, Kentucky?

This is the Bayers’ place in Stanford.
Bayers' place in Stanford

Here’s Grams’ house in Miracle. I love the wrap-around porch and the magnolia tree.
Grams' house in Miracle

This is the view of my grandmother’s property in Miracle.
view of Gram's property in Miracle

This is Tom’s place. He’s my grandmother’s neighbor and best friend.
Tom's place

This is what my dad’s house looks like in Miracle.
Dad's house in Miracle

Like so many people in Kentucky, my dad owns horses.
Dad's horses

This picture is overlooking Cedar Creek Lake at dusk and after thunderstorms rolled through the area. The lake is located between Miracle/Stanford and Crab Orchard. The Owens’ farm is nearby and it was at a picnic on the farm that Vance and I got acquainted.
Cedar Creek Lake at dusk

Here’s the Depot Restaurant where Grams and Tom like to eat every Friday night and this is where I met Vance and Cammy Bayer for the first time. On the menu: deep fried catfish, deep fried shrimp, sweet potato fries and cornbread that’s shaped like pancakes.
the Depot Restaurant

Grams’ quilts (as well as other crafts) are on display and for sale at the Depot Restaurant.
Grams' quilts

It’s only a 5 mile drive into Stanford, but it seems longer because of the steep, winding roads leading in and out of Miracle. Just out of town, there’s a Wal-Mart, a Food Lion, and a 24-hr McDonalds — among other businesses.
Stanford, Kentucky

This is the University of Kentucky Children’s Hospital in Lexington (about 45 minutes from Miracle) where Vance and I took Cammy for an evaluation to see if she’s a candidate for an experimental surgery that could enable her to walk.
University of Kentucky Children's Hospital in Lexington

21 Responses to Pictures from Miracle, Kentucky

  1. Andrea, this post is just precious! I love the way you used your character to tell about your trip. I want a wraparound porch!!!

    Sandie

  2. Debby Mayne says:

    What a beautiful setting! I want to go there and eat some fried catfish!

  3. Jason says:

    Andrea,

    This was a fun little tour…and I loved the way you let your character do the talking.

    It makes me want to move there.

    Bravo!

  4. Loree Lough says:

    Oh what a joy to have regular contact with my ol’ pal, Andrea again! The two of us go waaaaaaaaay back to our Heartsong Presents days.

    We met in person for the first time when Barbour brought all its Heartsong authors together in Ohio to meet our readers. We instantly ‘clicked’ and have gone right on ‘clicking’ ever since.

    Those of you who have’t read one of Andrea’s books, well, you’re just missing out on some of the best ficiton available, is what! So what are you waiting for? Quick…get a copy of one of her novels before other readers have snapped ’em all up!

  5. Blog says:

    Blog…

    Blog…

    • My name is sheila miracle my dad was from down here and i never new about this im asher miracles daughter and i am gonna move here i know now i found my place in life .I love u dad xoxoxox

  6. Carol Murphy says:

    I would love to visit. I loved the book and feel like Miracles really do happen. Could you give me any information on when the best time to take a vacation and where I should stay when I am there?

  7. Ronald D. Miracle says:

    My parents and Grandparents are all from the area.
    Lots of Miracles from Bell and Lincoln Counties

  8. Michelle Miracle says:

    Interesting. I googled my family hometown to show a student in class. I came across this blog. I was wondering how you came across Miracle, Kentucky. Ususally people have never heard of it. Thanks for bringing it to light.

  9. Scott Miracle says:

    I too have relatives in Miracle. It’s very cool to get a letter from the Miracle’s, to the Miracle’s, in Miracle! Hope to get there soon.

  10. MaLinda (Miracle) Teboe says:

    My dad was born and raised there and his paternal grandfather was the post master for Miracle, KY for years. We visit the area every year. We have a family reunion on my grandmother’s side,(Boatright). I spent many summers and “long” weekends in Cubage, Miracle, Middlesboro, and Jenny’s Branch Kentucky. It is absolutely beautiful there!

    • danny lee miracle says:

      what was your grandparents name just found out my family is from there to my great great grand parents was pleasant awhitt miracle his wife was nancy cupp miracle my grandfather was james mcdonald miracle he married gurtie russell

  11. juathena (Miracle) Plender says:

    I was born in Middlesboro Kentucky, My parents and I
    left Kentucky when I was four years old,we moved to Farmington, Michican so my father could find work. We
    moved from Michican to Long Beach California where I
    was raised and I still live in California. My maiden
    name was Miracle. I love seeing the pictures and
    hearing about the people of MIracle Ky.It looks like
    a beautiful place to visit, it seems so peaceful.

    • jerry ben says:

      My family comes from miracle ky. many years ago My grandfather name was clearance eugene miracle.They moved to MN. then over into the spokane wn area woild be nice to see if im related to any one there.

  12. {foodinline|foodinline.com|restaurant|restaurant website|free restaurant website|cheapt restaurant website|restaurant marketing| restaurant promotion| restaurant online ordering| restaurant online order|restaurant system|{美食|美食在线|餐馆|餐馆网站|中餐|中餐馆|中国餐馆|…

    […]Pictures from Miracle, Kentucky « Summerside Press[…]…

  13. garden says:

    Hello there! This post could not be written much better!

    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to forward this article to him.

    Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  14. Hello! I just finished this wonderful book. What grabbed my attention in the bookstore was the “Miracle, Kentucky” portion of the title. I am a writer from Greenville, Mississippi now in my 12th year in Bowling Green, Kentucky. As a former outsider, I picked up on every Kentucky cue from dialect to mannerism to description—I was called “hon” or “honey” more times in my first two weeks than I ever was in Mississippi. Great read with heart-grabbing characters and page turning plot. Thanks!

  15. AL. Jordan says:

    We visited Miracle, Kentucky a few years ago. Over heard, a remark from a young boy sitting on the store porch after viewing our vehicle license, “how could anyone from Missouri find this place”.

  16. Brie says:

    My grandmother was a Miracle. Her family left Miracle, KY during prohibition and moved to Colorado. I recently spoke with her brother and learned about Miracle, KY. I would love to visit and try to track down some relatives and learn a bit about my family history.

Leave a Reply

