Postcard From Heaven

            I am the only writer out of the first four in the series who has never before published a novel.  This is a great honor, as well as a source of extreme terror, depending on the day.

            One day early in the manuscript I was researching the setting around Romeo, Colorado.  I wanted my female protagonist to be an English professor, and so I was looking for the nearest college in the area so I could give her a place to teach.  Being an English teacher myself, I was also looking for a possible victim in academia who might collaborate with me about the setting.

            Mind you, it was a day when I was plagued with the question of whether or not I have what it takes to be a writer of novels.  My prayers went something like this:  Lord, I believe You have given me this opportunity, and I trust You know what You are doing.  Please help me tell this story.

I found a place called Adams State College that would be an easy commute from Romeo for my heroine.  I even found a friend in the English Department there who lives near Romeo and writes about the area—a virtual treasure chest of cool information!  But, as if all of that weren’t enough, I believe I got a postcard of encouragement, sent direct to me from heaven.

            If you go to the website for Adams State College, there’s a beautiful set of photos of the campus and surrounding mountains. Then there’s the school’s official slogan in bright, bold letters.  This is no lie; you can check it for yourself.  The slogan reads, Adams State College: Great Stories Begin Here.

9 Responses to Postcard From Heaven

  1. GERRY BASHAM says:

    HELLO< POSTCARD FROM HEAVEN WOW WOULDNT IT BE WONDERFUL TO RECIVE THEM FROM OUR LOVED ONES & YES WE DO IN OUR HEARTS MEMORIES ARE CARDS ARENT THEY ?? SMELLS ARE ALSO CARDS BOY OF ALL THE POSTCARDS I HAVE FILED AWAY & CAN PULL OUT & THINK ON HERS A SPECIAL CARD ILL PULL OUT THIS MORNING THE DAY YOU WERE BORN GWEN WHAT A MASTER PIECE THATS WHAT I CALLED YOU GOD S LITTLE MASTERPIECE SENT TO US FROM HEAVEN LOVE ALWAYS YOUR AUNTIE GERRY

  2. Irene Brand says:

    Gwen:
    I read your introduction and want to send along a word of encouragement. I’ve been writing for many years, and I still have butterflies in my stomach when I finish a manuscript and submit it to an editor, wondering if it’s good enough. And I still feel a hint of suprise when I see one of my books on a shelf in a store. But when God calls us to a task, He provides the wherewithall to complete what we start. You have an excellent subject and area to write about, and I’m looking forward to reading your book.

    We have a great opportunity and I’m excited about it – launching a new line of books is a privilege. I look forward to working with you. I will pray for you as you complete the book and will appreciate having your prayers also.

  3. Marsha says:

    Gwen,

    I have read several of your articles and stories and have always been so blessed by your gift of writing. I am so excited to read your new book! Your writing style and talent will be perfectly suited to produce the most delightful and entertaining work. I love your writing and of course the beautiful words you have penned for DaySpring Cards.

    What a wonderful blessing when God confirms that He is fulfilling the good work He has started in us, and when we are being faithful to join Him in the work He is already doing. Your postcard from Heaven is that wonderful confirmation that He is leading you and you are following.

    Thank you for sharing your “story behind the story”. It creates an even greater desire to read your new book and once again be swept away in your writing and experience the adventures that God lays on your heart.

    Blessings on your first novel!

    A fan forever.

  4. Cheryl Smith says:

    Dear Gwen,
    I am so proud of you! You know I’ve always believed you would write a novel and what a joy to see your hopes and dreams coming to fruition–in God’s perfect way and timing. You have an abundance of talents, but one of the most special is your ability to see God’s handiwork in everything around you and then express it in ways we can all relate. Thank you for sharing with me and the world your wisdom that comes only from a person who clearly seeks God’s direction in every facet of life. I’ll be praying for you as you continue to work on your book.
    Love,
    Cha Cha

  5. Jim says:

    Gwen,
    I am so proud… Congratulations on this fulfillment of a lifelong dream. You are a very special person with many stories to tell, so full of words… I love you and am blessed to know you like I do. I know your novel will be great!! Love you—Jim

  6. Dawn Dunn says:

    Gwen-
    Congradulations! But I’m not the least bit suprised by this. The Lord brought me to your class for a reason and I’m not just refering to you helping me to release my desire to write again! You have a gift that over flows to all that are around you, and all that get the chance to experience your writing. I look forward to reading your book! Keep on doing just what you’ve been doing! You are truely an inspiration to us all!
    Friendship always,
    Dawn

  7. Bryan Riley says:

    Gwen, I can’t wait until I have your book in my hand! I have no doubt what-so-ever that it will be a piece of work from the Master! God has truly blessed you with a gift to bring words of life to people who need them as well as bring your words to life even as they are written on paper! You have an amazing ability to speak directly to the heart in a meaningful way! You are a treasure of a friend! Tara

  8. Annette Irby says:

    Gwen, I’m finding this late in the year because I’m just learning more about your new release “Love Finds You in Romeo, Colorado.” Wow, I love this story of how God ordained your research! And having an English teacher for your protag? for a story with Romeo in the title?! Clever writer! I wish you all the best with this, your first, novel.

    Come have a peek of Sandra’s visit to my blog for her Love Finds You book. Great fun! I’m reading Andrea’s now and Irene’s is in the stack. I’m loving this new line! http://www.annetteirbyreviews.blogspot.com

  9. Terri Primavera says:

    My sister was so excited about this book. Now I can hardly wait to read it. I (with my 15 sibilibgs)were born and raised in Romeo. We filled the church on Sundays, so all the neighbors would tease. I will read and comment on the book. Terri

Leave a Reply

