Loree Lough joins the Summerside Sisterhood!

Hello, everybody!

Let me start by saying I pray the Lord has blessed you all with a safe, happy, and healthy summer.

He has surely blessed me, many times over. The family is happy and healthy, my malfunctioning computer has been repaired, and I recently learned that my contract for Love Finds You in Paradise, PA will arrive any day. How cool is that!

The basic storyline, for those of you with inquiring minds, goes something like this:

Julia (legal aid lawyer) and Simon (veterinarian) are regular volunteers at The Wolf Sanctuary of PA (a real place, just like Paradise!). Both also have ties with their good Amish friends. With so much in common, it’s no surprise that, right from the get-go, they’re drawn to one another.

Simon, lonely and brokenhearted since the death of his wife, has prayed for someone to share his beliefs, his life, and his yearning for children. Julia, an orphan raised in the foster care system, wants the same things. But convinced the handsome, big-hearted animal doctor deserves far better than someone like her–the product of a mother who died of a drug overdose and a father who died in prison–she does everything in her power to stay a safe heart-distance from Simon, who is determined to prove her wrong…

…until an Amish child is harmed by an “Englisher”, and her boss forces Julia to represent the offender in court.

Can the loving lessons of the humble Amish help him understand that Julia’s just doing her job? That the boy in question, like little Liam, is also child of God, deserving of forgiveness and mercy? Or will outrage that Julia could defend the young man’s violent acts keep Simon from living by God’s laws, not man’s?

And what will it take for Julia to forgive herself for representing the individual who caused such pain and heartache in the Amish community and her own?

Only a miracle can mend all the broken hearts, and renew the peace and tranquility of Paradise, PA….

Come back soon to view pictures of my klutzy, neurotic rescued dog, my gardens, family (and maybe even me!), and of course, the beautiful Paradise vistas.

Until then, may God’s blessings keep you smiling!

All my best,

Loree

9 Responses to Loree Lough joins the Summerside Sisterhood!

  1. Debby Mayne says:

    Wow! Sounds like a powerful story, Loree! I’ll make sure I have a full box of tissue nearby when I read your book.

  2. Irene Brand says:

    Sounds like a terrific plot, Loree. Can’t wait to read the book. In case any of you wonder, Loree and I go back a long way together. Not that we’re telling our ages, mind you! She probably doesn’t remember, but when I asked her to autograph one of her first books (perhaps the first one) for me, she wrote, “When I grow up, I want to be just like you.”

  3. Loree Lough says:

    I’ll bet Irene can hear me chuckling, all the way from her house! Yes, I do remember scribbling that li’l notation in a book, ages ago, and yes, that lovely lady and I do go way back. (Like Irene, I won’t divulge exactly how far back!)

    My ‘when I grow up’ comment had dual meanings: You bet I wanted to become a super-storyteller, just like Irene. More than that, though, I prayed that someday, I’d be the Believer this grand lady is.

    She’s truly an inspiration to us all, and we’re lucky she’s among The Sisterhood!

    All my best, y’all. And by the way? That really IS an actual picture of Paradise. The photographer deserves an award, don’t you think!

    All my best,
    Loree

  4. Loree wanted to be like Irene when she grew up … And I wanted to be like Loree. She’s been my friend for … a very long time. 🙂

    For any of you who haven’t read Loree Lough before, you are in for such a treat. She’s one of the funniest people I know, and her writing grabs heartstrings in ways that will thrill you. Laughter through tears is a great emotion, and Loree is a pro at pulling it up through her stories.

    What a great group we have here!

    Sandie

  5. I didn’t realize just how far back the Summerside Sisters go! It gives me chills to think how God orchestrated all of this, brought you all together as writers and gave me the honor and privilege to work with you on ths project. I’m thrilled!

  6. Irene Brand says:

    To comment on Sandie’s and Rachel’s posts –
    Not only does Loree give us a laugh when we talk in person, but this same personality trait comes through in her writing. I haven’t had the privilege of reading works by all of the Sisters involved, but those I have read convinces me that we are bringing a diverse style of writing to the Summerside line.

  7. Debby mayne says:

    I’m amazed at this whole thing, too! God’s hand is strong and evident in every aspect of what we’re experiencing. From Sandie telling me about Summerside to Tamela’s eager encouragement to submit, this adventure has been fabulous!

  8. Robin Bayne says:

    Looking forward to reading it, Loree!

  9. Loree Lough says:

    Hey everybody!
    As this story nears its conclusion, I’m finding it hard to work…because I’ve fallen in love with the town and its people!
    Reminds me of how I felt the first time I read “East of Eden”. I wanted to spend more time with the characters…so I ‘doled out’ pages just a few a day (though I read much faster!) so I could hold on to them for as long as possible.
    I sure hope readers get as attached to these folks as I have. I know this…if they blubber like I did when a certain little boy is killed, well, they might wanna first stock up on extra-soft tissues!
    By the way…I just read Sandie Bricker’s first Summerside release, Love Finds You in Snowball, Arkansas. Wow. What a treat! It’s one of those books that leaves you sighing and smiling when y’put it down.
    Way to go, Sandie!
    All my best to everybody.
    Loree

Leave a Reply

