Your Lifelong Friends

I’d love to introduce myself. I’m Anita Higman, and my novel with Summerside Press will be Love Finds You in Humble, Texas. Humble is a small town near Houston, and when I visited there recently to do some research for my novel I was amazed at how the atmosphere transported me back to my childhood in Oklahoma. I grew up on a farm in the western part of Oklahoma, near Custer, so I’m not only familiar with cows and chickens and hogs, but I also have an understanding of the inner workings and dramas within small-town life.

There is an uncomplicated charm, a closeness, and a beauty to small towns that isn’t like anyplace else in America. There, people wave at you. People know your father’s name is Edwin. They know your favorite fishing hole. They bring you a basket of pears when the trees get too heavy. They attend your christenings, your weddings, and your funerals. They become your lifelong friends. So, as you read Love Finds You in Humble, Texas know that I have some of that small-town air still in my lungs and the memories of small-town life forever woven in my heart.

I’m looking forward to sharing my story with you, and I hope you’ll leave a comment. What do you love most about small towns?

Anita Higman
www.anitahigman.com

6 Responses to Your Lifelong Friends

  1. Debby Mayne says:

    Hey, Anita! I love the same things you do about small towns. I look forward to reading your book!

  2. Anita Higman says:

    Good morning, Debby,

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! If you would like a bookmark and an autographed bookplate for the book when it comes out, just let me know, and I’ll mail them to you. Take care!

    Blessings,
    Anita Higman

  3. Anita Higman says:

    Hello again to Debby,

    Please let me add that I’m looking forward to reading your book set on Treasure Island! I love sunny Florida.

    Have a great day writing!

    Anita Higman

  4. Rachel Meisel, Editor says:

    What do I love about small towns? Small churches. There’s nothing wrong with big ones, of course, but there’s something about a small body of believers who know one another and support one another as a family unit. I grew up in a church like that, and I’ve longed for one ever since.

    Another great memory I have about the small Iowa town where I spent my first eight years was the fact that my parents could ‘shoo’ all four of us out the door to play, and they didn’t have to worry about our safety. Everyone in the neighborhood watched each other’s kids; it was just understood. We’d stay out all day, every day of the summer. Then, at suppertime, my dad would whistle for us. No matter where we were in the neighborhood (and sometimes we wandered pretty far!), we’d hear him and come running. What a fun memory. Thanks for making me reminisce!

  5. Loree Lough says:

    I’m so excited to be included among such wonderful company. Though I haven’t yet had a chance to read every Summerside authors’ books, I’ll make the logical leap of faith and say I’m certain they’re all talented authors who are sure to deliver entertaining, inspiring reads. (I’m chompin’ at the bit to get my hands on the first books of every terrific gal in the Summerside Sisterhood!)

    Can’t wait to read Humble, m’dear!

  6. Alexwebmaster says:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

