Last Chance, California

My book is centered around the ghost town of Last Chance, Ca. It was once a booming mining town, situated high up in the Sierra Nevada mountains, about 2 hours NE of Sacramento, in what at the time was the southern part of the Oregon Territory.

My story takes place in the late 1800’s and will encompass the town as well as the surrounding high mountain valley, where Alexia, our heroine lives and raises horses.

My husband and I are taking a trip to the old town site of Last Chance in early June to research the area and see how much history we can unearth. We’ll be staying at a nearby lodge and walking the final 2-3 miles to the town site, as we understand it can only be accessed with a 4×4. We’re flying in to Sacramento and renting a car, and may not be able to acquire something that will straddle the deep ruts in the road. We’re hoping the snow will be melted off the trails by then, as Last Chance sits at the 5,000′ elevation. Most winters the town would get so much snow that the miners weren’t able to obtain supplies. They either had to move to lower elevations, or pack them from Deadwood, seven miles away through the heavy snows.

I’ll be posting a report of what I find in the area while we’re visiting there, and hopefully a picture or two, as well.

Miralee Ferrell, author of Love Finds You In Last Chance, CA.

5 Responses to Last Chance, California

  1. Angela Meuser says:

    Congrats Miralee, I’m looking forward to reading your book. Have fun researching Last Chance.

  2. Marsha says:

    HI MIRALEE!

    I CANNOT WAIT TO BE ABLE TO BUY YOUR NEW BOOK.

    I JUST LOVED YOUR BOOK ‘THE OTHER DAUGHTER’!!

    I AM SURE THE ‘LAST CHANCE’ NOVEL WILL BE JUST AS EXCITING A READ AS THAT WAS!

    CONGRATULATIONS! AND HAVE FUN ON YOUR RESEARCH TRIP!!

  3. Loree Lough says:

    I’m happy, happy, happy to be among such wonderful company.

    Though I haven’t yet had a chance to read every Summerside authors’ books, I’ll make the logical leap of faith and say I’m certain they’re all talented authors who are sure to deliver entertaining, inspiring reads. (I’m chompin’ at the bit to get my hands on the first books of every terrific gal in the Summerside Sisterhood!)

    Looking forward to reading Last Chance!

  4. gerry says:

    I used to trail ride and camp in that area in the late 60’s . recently I went back and found almost everything had been grown over by the forest. There still are some remanants left over from the gold rush days.E mail me If you need some information.

  5. Miralee says:

    Hi Gerry,

    Thanks for the note! It’s always nice to meet someone who’s been to an area that I’ve written about. You’re right, the old town site of Last Chance has been almost totally swallowed by the forest now. I appreciate your offer of information, but the book released in Feb. of this year…if you happen to pick up a copy, I’d love hearing what you think, since you’re familiar with the area. Miralee Ferrell

Leave a Reply

